Politics as Usual

It was recently brought to my attention that a blog post by Max Love had wild accusations about me conspiring with the administration against student interests. Where I’d like to say I’m surprised, I’m really not. This nothing more than politics as usual for Love, who likes to smear any possibly of a paranoia type conspiracy theory.  This has nothing to do with Chair Williams or Vice Chair Johnson. These were my actions alone and in no way is a conspiracy. Furthermore, his post is taken grossly out of context.  Yes I did say I would keep the documents ‘secret’ and in retrospect maybe that wasn’t the best word choice, however the goal with conceding this point was to at a minimum get some form of information from  the Chancellor’s office. (Compared to nothing if I had promised to spread the documents widely). Additionally, my willingness to hold these documents close reflects Martin’s desire to keep things not public because they were not ready for public consumption and she was still negotiating with Governor Walker. It’s important to note the New Badger Partnership is a working proposal so some things were not actually Martin’s policy yet.

I implore you all to read all the emails in their full context. If you do you can note a few things. Without my email to Chancellor Martin’s Chief of Staff on that date regarding this issue a few things would have never happened. Most notably:

  • An immediate meeting with Provost DeLuca, Dean of Student Lori Berquam, and Legislative Assistant to the Chancellor Don Nelson. (In which all the parties cleared the schedule for the day to meet with top ASM leadership)
  • Vice Chancellor Darrell Bazzell, Dean Berquam, and Don Nelson present at a student council meeting to answer questions regarding the NBP.
  • Chancellor Martin to come to the open forum on January 24th

You know, I bet it’s really easy for Max Love to lob bombs from the sidelines. After all, when he’s not being caught by Jason Smathers anonymously commenting about campus politics, he’s too busy trying to create ASM drama. His position on the outside looking in lets him avoid producing a serious alternative vision to the Badger Partnership. By not engaging in a serious debate but instead, rushing to his favorite fetish – creating paranoid theories about student government – he has taken the serious debate and poisoned the well.  I’m the Chief of Staff to the Chair of ASM. I have to navigate the political waters to get things done. But Love and company need to take a serious look at themselves. This is how far they’ve come? They don’t have a coherent intellectual framework to oppose something intended to help UW-Madison so they came up with this. Another failed political attack. Look how far it’s gotten them over the years.

I’ll stick to getting things done.

6 responses to “Politics as Usual

  1. Not giving out my name

    Not giving out my name, but I have your back. Max Love violated rules once in my dorm and if he ever tries this shit again, I will start a blog and expose him for his behavior. I have several people on my floor who will vouch for our story.

    • DORM RULES????????

      HE VIOLATED DORM RULES!?!?!?! SHIT IS ABOUT TO HIT THE FAN!!!!!

      • Not giving out my name

        In many ways, such as campaigning.

        I have no plans to report these things, but if he wants to hurt good people and make up ethical or legal violations, he should expect the same treatment.

        No caps lock needed.

  2. Expose me. That sounds dirty, but anyways, do you mean for distributing non partisan campaign literature (of which I was already reprimanded for)? Or was it something worse. My memory fails me.

  3. Pingback: North Park Street — Max Love and His Drama to Join MTV

Leave a Reply

